Did you know that there are now over half a million people living the vegan lifestyle in the UK? More and more people are taking the plunge and saying goodbye to animal-based products for the ethical and health benefits, but abstaining from meat and dairy products comes with its own struggles. Ever pick something up at the supermarket only to discover it’s not vegan-friendly? Yep, we hear you.
The good news? There are so many animal-free products out there, the trick is knowing where to look. Whether you’re a lifelong vegan or a newcomer, here are eight animal-friendly grub options that you never knew were vegan…
Did you know the meat in pot noodles is actually textured soya pieces? We’ll take one of each flavour, please.
Vegan-friendly flavours: Beef and tomato, Bombay bad boy, Sweet and sour, Southern fried chicken. In the Pot Noodle in a mug range, stick to flavours: Tomato & Herb, Spicy curry, Chinese chicken and Roast chicken.
Kettle crisps & Pop Chips
A healthier alternative to your conventional deep fried crisps, popchips & (our personal faves) Kettle Crisps are heated in a pressurized chamber and then quickly released into fresh air which causes them to pop, giving you all the flavour and half the fat.
Readymade cake mixes
Minus the egg and milk listed on the box (and with the help of science) going vegan doesn’t mean completely abandoning the foods you love. Cake mixes usually require eggs, milk and water to be added but you can always substitute regular milk with coconut, soy or almond milk. For the eggs you can use silken tofu and vegetable oil instead of butter.
White Rabbit Pizza Co.
Biscuits and spreads
Cioccolato fondente ripieno con marzapane Ritter Sport. 📍Iper, Carrefour 💰1,29€-1,39€ . . . . . . #laspesavegana #veganiperlagrandei #vegancarrefouritalia #vegan #vegano #veganitalia #govegan #vegansofig #vegansofinstagram #prodottivegani #veganiitaliani #italiavegana #whatveganseat #maketheconnection #instafood #food #veggie #veganism #veganlife #veganfood #rittersportmarzipan #veganfoodshare
Going dairy-free doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy a bit of cheesy goodness. Depending on the brand, most vegan cheese is made out of soybean. For the cheese-heads amongst you , here are vegan-approved alternatives that will satiate any cheese craving.